Prof. Wijbe Nauta (posthumously) and Prof. Henk Timmerman have been appointed honorary fellows of the EFMC

In honor of the 50th anniversary of the European Federation for Medicinal Chemistry (EFMC) the two professors have been appointed

04/12/2021 | 10:29 AM

In honor of its 50th anniversary, the European Federation for Medicinal Chemistry (EFMC) has appointed two former professors of the VU University Amsterdam as EFMC Honorary Fellows. This prestigious title emphasizes the important contribution of both Pharmacochemists in establishing and developing this scientific discipline. wijbe-nauta

Prof. Wijbe Nauta (deceased in 1986) received the prize posthumously in recognition of his role as a leading scientist that helped to establish pharmacochemistry (also called medicinal chemistry). He was also involved in the foundation of the European organization EFMC and on a national level he helped to establish the KNCV Pharmacochemistry division for which he became the first chairman in 1972. This KNCV division is still active and has recently changed its name to Medicinal Chemistry & Chemical Biology to highlight the broader role of the field in the life sciences.

Prof. Henk Timmerman (1937-) studied chemistry at the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam and did his PhD research in the Pharmacochemistry department of Prof. Nauta. After his PhD, he worked in the industry at Gist-Brocades and in 1979 he returned to the VU where he took over the Pharmacochemistry department from Prof. Nauta. In addition to a guiding role in the development of pharmacochemical education and research, Prof. Timmerman has been very active in the pharmacochemistry (medicinal chemistry) community. He is co-founder of the international pharmaceutical sciences partnership ULLA and has organized numerous conferences, summer schools and courses. He has also been very active in the boards of the most important chemical (e.g. as former chairman of the KNCV) and pharmacochemical organizations on a national level and international level (including former chairman of the EFMC). Even after his retirement in 2002, he is still involved as a consultant for these organizations. Prof. Timmerman has received many honorary doctorates and prizes, including the Ariens Prize, the Dr. Saal van Zwanenberg Prize and the Nauta Award. The influence of Prof. Timmerman for the VU University also remains significant, which can be seen, among many other things, by the fact that seven of his PhD students have become professors, six of them at the VU University and the Amsterdam UMC.henk timmerman